Better Understanding On CDL Licenses And Their Types

We all know there are various types of licenses available according to the rig you drive but somehow, we never got in detail about the same. Today is the day. We will be talking about the CDL licenses and its varieties. This will help you in decide your career and the license which is applicable. And yes, drive your heavy rigs safe.

According to USDOT, there are three types Commercial Drivers License for drivers. These licenses are further qualified by six endorsements that designate specific type, that the driver is applicable and permitted to use. Also, drivers are required to understand each type of license and what vehicle that falls under the jurisdiction of CDL licensing.

Let’s check the detailed list of licenses and their requirement:

Class A CDL:

Every commercial vehicle classes are determined on factors, which also includes weight and their purpose. Drivers who’re towing vehicles that weigh more than 10,000 pounds are required to possess Class A CDL.

According to Department of transportation, drivers operating vehicles with a trailer attached and the combined weight is more than 26,001 pounds, then they’re required to hold a Class A CDL. This also includes that the gross weight rating of the trailer exceeding 10,000 pounds.

Class B CDL:

The next type of license is Class B CDL, for vehicles exceeding 26,001 pounds or pulling another vehicle with the gross weight rating of less than 10,000 pounds. However, do remember that the requirement for this and other CDLs are maintained by the federal governments, the issue of the same will be at a state level. Every state is required to meet the minimum standards for commercial carrier set by the USDOT.

Class C CDL:

Well, after talking about Class A & B, now we shall talk about Class C, which is designed to cover a larger number of passengers or used to transport heavy, hazardous material. However, note that Class C license are required for individuals, operating vehicles that do not fall in the category of other licenses. Vehicles that carry more than 16 passengers, including the driver and other vehicle carrying hazardous materials requiring a placard or defined as a selective agent require a Class C CDL to operate.

Endorsements for License:

There are six endorsements for the three types of CDL. These endorsements acknowledge that the driver has successfully passed the test certifying his ability to drive a specific type of commercial vehicle. There are six types of vehicles covered by the endorsement system, which includes:

  • School Buses
  • Tank Vehicles
  • Multiple trailers,
  • Passenger bus,
  • Hazardous materials
  • And hazardous materials/tank vehicle combinations

The tests required for given endorsements may include written and practical components in addition to the testing are mandatory to obtain a proper CDL.

It is important to have a valid license to be on the road safely, behind the wheels. Also, if you’re looking for a job change, you can always visit for updates and choose your desired job in the desired state.

And, if you got any queries’ handling our application, we can work it out for you. Call us @ 1-866-245-3918 or simply shoot a mail to We’re here to serve you like you will serve the nation!


Leave a Reply